What are the different types of scoring that Test Engine supports?

Standard Scoring
Standard scoring requires all the answer choices for a question to be correct to receive full credit.

Partial Credit

Some of the questions may give partial credit for partially completed multiple answers type questions.

For example, if the question asks to "Choose 3" and you only choose 2 correct answers, the "standard scoring" system would count your answer as incorrect, but the "partial credit" scoring would give you partial credit depending on the number of correct choices you made on the question.

Each incorrect choice would deduct from your partial credit. For example, if the question asks "Choose 3" and the correct answers are "B", "D", and "F", and you picked "B", "D", and "E", the incorrect choice "E" would deduct the point. This means that if you choose "B" and "D" on this question, you will score higher than if you choose "B", "D" and "E". If you choose more incorrect answers than correct ones, the score for these questions will be zero. In other words, a single question cannot have a score less than zero.

Adaptive Scoring

BrainCert's adaptive scoring algorithm evaluates a response and determines the appropriate level of difficulty for the next question. This process helps ensure the test result is a true measure of the individual's knowledge, and not a reflection of their ability to learn and study test questions.

Question weights (difficulty level) are values assigned to each question measuring the difficulty level and relative importance of the material being tested. We are already capturing this using 1-5 rating stars when creating a question. When adaptive scoring is selected, questions are automatically drawn from all question sets and the next question is shown to the user based on the response of the student to the questions and the final score is calculated accordingly.

The test begins with a question of medium difficulty. If you answer it correctly, the test engine will usually select a more difficult question. If you answer the first question incorrectly, the next question will be easier. This process will continue until you complete the section, at which point, the computer will be able to accurately assess your ability level in the specific field in which you were questioned.

To summarize, an adaptive test typically begins by delivering an item of medium difficulty; if you get it correct, you get a tougher item, and if you get it incorrect, you get an easier item. This adaptive scoring algorithm continues until the test is finished. So, the difficult questions carry more marks while less difficult questions aren’t worth many marks.

Date Created
2013-10-07 14:26:18
Date Updated
2013-10-07 14:27:30